Dont you die on me!

About a week ago the unthinkable happened!  My PS3 Phat gave me the Yellow Light of Death (aka YLOD).  I checked the manual and it said that it could just be overheated.  Fingers crossed i unplugged everything and let it sit by a window with a cool dry breeze for about a half hour.  Nothing. 

After leaving it over night and searching on line, my options began to narrow as i learned more about the problem:

  1. Pay $150 and send it in to Sony to have it worked on.  Aparently there’s a 90% chance i’d just get a referbished Slim model.
  2. Pay $250 and buy a brand-spanking new 120GB Slim model and loose the card reader, 2 USB ports, and Backwards compatibility.
  3. Put the old girl under the knife and fix her myself!

Well, as you can imagine, i chose to fix her my self.  With some searching, i found the following videos:

PS3 YLOD Part 1 of 3PS3 YLOD Part 2 of 3, PS3 YLOD Part 3 of 3

In the video it says you’ll need the following:

  1. Arctic Silver 5 (or similar thermal compound)
  2. A heat gun.  I had one so that worked out great.  It needs to get up to at least 600F.
  3. Thermal compound cleaner.  I didnt get that, so i just used water and Q-Tips, which worked ok, but water and electronics dont mix so i was careful.
  4. A star drive screw driver.  I think that’s what it was called.  I found somthing that fit, but you’ll see it when you remove the “Void warrentee and death” sticker.

OK! on to the fix.  I dissassembled everything (see pics below) and just followed along with the video.  It was pretty easy.  One thing i’d highly suggest is, in excel, create a sheet with large grids and label them with the screws that you’ll be removing (you’ll want to watch the dissassembly video while you create the spread sheet).  Then print out and place the screws in their appropraite boxes.  (I didnt do this and ended up having 3 extra screws!)

I had no other problems and my PS3 Phat is now back up and running!  If you’ve ever wanted to see the inside of my phattie, belows your chance!

Here's what you'll need.

Got the top off!

Continuing the Dissassembly process

 

The "Re-Flow" process.

All done. Now i just have to reassemble.

If you want to see all the pictures, go here.  All in all, following the video was rather easy, and best of all, for about $10 (more if you dont have a heat gun) i was able to fix it myself!  I’ve heard from some that its not a permenant fix, but that remains to be seen.  I’ll update this post if i have to do it again…

Update: Well it finally died dead.  After doing this fix about 5 or 6 times, it has officially kicked the bucket.  I bought a brand new slim and got Uncharted 3 out of it!  Maybe i’ll sell the phattie on ebay for parts…

Leave a Reply

