Impressions: Nikon 24-70 f/2.8

It is awesome!

I have 3 dream lenses: Nikon’s 14-24 f/2.8, Nikon’s 24-70 f/2.8, and Nikon’s 70-200 f/2.8.  It took me a while but I finally saved up enough to get the 24-70 and it definitely doesn’t disappoint!

What is so great about this lens?  Everything.  More specifically the focal range, the focus speed, the build quality, the optical quality, and the lens hood just to name a few things…

  • Focal range:  There is a good reason Nikon made this lens range from 24mm to 70mm, it’s probably the most useful focal range for ‘everyday’ use.  24mm is wide enough to get a full family in and 70mm is great for portraits.   It’ll be interesting to see how this changes when I get a full-frame camera body (this lens set my savings to zero, so it’s gonna take a while to get the D800!) and lose that extra reach…
  • Focus speed:  Not all lenses are created equal, this lens blows every other lens I have out of the water. The only way I can think to describe the focus speed on this lens is with a little experiment.  Get an empty beer bottle and a AA battery.  If you pick up the beer bottle at the very top with your thumb and middle finger, try to spin it back and forth.  Get a feel for the weight and how much force it takes to spin it.  Now do the same with the AA battery.  Now imagine a tiny motor trying to spin the same two objects.  Obviously the motor will be able to spin the battery faster because it weighs less.  This is how the 24-70 feels.
    The focus ring only rotates about 90 degrees between stops.  This means you need to be really accurate if you’re focusing manually, like say for video.
  • Build quality:  It’s definitely the heaviest lens I own and feels solid.  I’m expecting this lens to last a real long time.  The focus ring and zoom ring have a good solid feel to them and their movement is very smooth.
  • Lens hood:  I know it’s a weird thing to like in a lens but this lens has a cool feature that I like.  The lens hood locks in place with a little button clasp so it wont fall off.  I wish my sigma 10-20 lens hood had something like this, I’m constantly worried the slightest bump is going to knock it loose and I’m going to lose it.
  • Optical quality:  The optical quality is excellent!  It’s almost as sharp as my 85mm f/1.8.  I recently got my first chance to try it out by doing some family portraits at Silver Lake Park.  I might be biased, but this lens is really awesome.  Everything looks better through it!  The colors seem a little more vibrant and it seems to have more contrast… Again, I might be projecting things that are not there.

https://i1.wp.com/www.davidkleinot.com/photos/i-9S3JQCJ/0/M/i-9S3JQCJ-M.jpghttps://i2.wp.com/www.davidkleinot.com/photos/i-4kfH3Bx/0/M/i-4kfH3Bx-M.jpg

If you want a more technical review here, here, and here are good places.

2 thoughts on “Impressions: Nikon 24-70 f/2.8

  1. So did you use this lens on your D7000? Looks amazing 🙂 I’m still fussy about buying Full-frame lenses because 24mm is not enough wide angle 😦 Eventually I will go to Full frame as well, but that can take a while as you may have realised yourself.

    • It’s my favorite lens. I agree it’s not that wide on the D7000 but it’s still a phenomenal lens. I was considering getting either the lens or the D600 and I’m very glad I went with the lens.

      I’m saving for the D800 so I’m assuming it’ll get even better!!

Leave a Reply

