DIY: Speedlight mount

I recently bought some white shoot through umbrellas and found that while they do a great job of spreading out the light nice and evenly, you loose a lot of power.  Having one speed light sometimes just isn’t enough, especially if you use low powered cheap manual flashes or if you want a decent recycle time.  So with that in mind, I set out to create something I could mount at least two speedlights to.  Here’s what I came up with.

The concept is simple: get a square metal tube and drill some holes in it.  I decided to drill the holes all the way through the beam so I could mount the speedlight both vertically and horizontally.  I find that with shoot through umbrellas being able to aim the speedlight horizontally into it gives me a more even spread…  Also, I can rotate the flash body however I want so I can get to the controls even if the flash is up high.  If I have it up at 7′ I’ll have the body controls facing down so I don’t have to lower the flash to see/change settings.

This isn’t practical for most since you’ll need a drill press with variable speeds.  You could probably do it with a hand-held drill or a dremel, but that would be tricky and potentially dangerous…  To finish this up, I think I’ll spray paint it black and put a few clear coats on it so it doesn’t look so DIY.  I didn’t keep track of the cost since I had a few of the materials already, but I think the plastic knobs were the most expensive part of the whole build.  If I had to estimate, I’d say it was probably around $10 – $15 for all the materials…

Let me know if you try it out and have comments.

To see more pictures, go here.

Leave a Reply

